Support UNT Economics | Department of Economics

Support UNT Economics

The generosity of our alumni and friends makes it possible for the Economics Department to support many outstanding students each year. All gifts are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law, and can be designated to any of several scholarship funds:

Meritum Scholars Scholarship Fund

The Economics Alumni Advisory Council Meritum Scholars Scholarship Fund will provide merit-based scholarships to students majoring in economics (or its successor). Alumni, friends, corporations and foundations are invited to make gifts to the university for this fund from which scholarships will be awarded.

Economics Alumni Advisory Council Excellence Fund was established by the Alumni Advisory Council (click here for information on the AAC). The purpose of the fund is to provide support to further the mission of the Department of Economics (or its successor), including but not limited to support for departmental research and excellence activities and Economics Alumni Advisory Council (or its successor) operations.

Susan Dadres Memorial Scholarship is in memory of former faculty member Susan Dadres ('84, '86 MS), who passed away on May 19, 2022. Susan Dadres dedicated her professional life to education. At a time when single mothers were often unable to pursue college, she earned her master's degree from UNT and her doctorate from Southern Methodist University. She went on to teach economics as a lecturer at UNT and other universities for more than 30 years, as well as co-writing widely used economics textbooks and workbooks. She was an early pioneer of online education and developed UNT's first online economics courses, increasing educational opportunities for countless students. Throughout her life, she inspired her students and her colleagues with her commitment to teaching.

The Faculty Scholarship in Memory of Karla Lynch is in memory of long-time faculty member Karla Lynch, who passed away on February 21, 2015. Karla was also an alumna of our program, earning her Master's in economics in 1992. She was a master teacher and a caring mentor, and she touched the lives of generations of students and colleagues and friends fortunate enough to have known her. The scholarship is funded by Karla's colleagues and many friends as a way of honoring her commitment to her students and to higher education in general.

Dr. Margie Tieslau Scholarship is made possible by the contributions of Deborah Watkins ('97 MS) in honor of Dr. Margie Tieslau's contribution to the department and education of our graduate students. The scholarship is merit-based and is awarded to an undergraduate economics major with an outstanding academic record. Students must have a minimum 3.0 average and maintain full-time enrollment status unless they are graduating.

The Lewis Abernathy Scholarship is in memory of a beloved teacher and scholar who joined the faculty in 1962, serving until his retirement in 1995. Professor Abernathy also served as department chair from 1985-1995.

The William H. & Virginia W. Wallace Scholarship honors former faculty member William H. Wallace and his late wife Virginia W. Wallace and their service and dedication to education.

The Melton-Cochran Scholarship is in memory of Rosser B. "Abe" Melton (a faculty member from 1946-1975) and Kendall P. Cochran (on the faculty from 1957-1989, and department chair from 1969-1977). Both were noted scholars and were inspirations to generations of students. For donors of $250 or more, we are pleased to send a complimentary copy of the forthcoming book, Economics: From the Dismal Science to the Moral Science, The Moral Economics of Kendall P. Cochran, University of North Texas Scholarly Press.

The Aaron Wuensch Scholarship celebrates the life of graduate student Aaron Wuensch (1983-2009), whose generous spirit and love of life touched the lives of his fellow students and all who knew him.

Department of Economics General Scholarship is our general-purpose scholarship fund.

If the direct links to the funds above are not working properly, you can add your support online by visiting Then, select the option "Other" and use the "Comments" box to indicate the specific fund you want to support.

If you would like to contribute by mail, or if you have any questions, please contact us at (940) 565-2573 or at