Drs. Janice Hauge and Jeffrey Rous won the 2022 Salute to Faculty Excellence Awards. | Department of Economics
April 20, 2022

Drs. Janice Hauge and Jeffrey Rous won the 2022 Salute to Faculty Excellence Awards.

Please join us to congratulate UNT Economics faculty members, Drs. Janice Hauge and Jeffrey Rous, winners of the 2022 Salute to Faculty Excellence Awards.

UNT's Salute to Faculty Excellence event is hosted each spring by Faculty Success and the UNT Foundation. UNT honors the dedicated faculty members whose innovative research, pedagogy, and service continue our university's tradition of prestige.

The 2022 Salute to Faculty Excellence Awards Celebration was held Tuesday, April 19, in the Murchison Performing Arts Center.

J.H. Shelton Excellence in Teaching Award: Janice A. Hauge, Ph.D., Professor

Dr. Janice Hauge is a professor in the Department of Economics. She received her bachelor's degree from Hamilton College, her master's degree from the London School of Economics, and her Ph.D. from the University of Florida. Her ongoing research addresses regulatory and competition policy issues in the telecommunications, broadband, and digital platform sectors. She also explores the tangentially related topics of artificial intelligence and machine learning that are dependent on broadband availability and adoption, and are contingent upon appropriate regulatory and privacy policies.

She serves on the Board of Directors of the Telecommunications Policy Research Group, and is a senior research associate with the Public Utilities Research Center at the University of Florida, and a senior fellow with the Alexander Hamilton Institute for the Study of Western Civilization. Professor Hauge teaches upper-level undergraduate courses in strategic behavior theory and the economics of sports, and is developing a course on the Internet of Things. This latter course will introduce to students concepts that traditional microeconomic theory does not, simply because the technologies involved did not exist until roughly 15 years ago. Dr. Hauge also teaches graduate-level industrial organization and on occasion works with doctoral students in the Department of Computer Science.

President's Council Service Award: Jeffrey J. Rous, Ph.D., Professor

Jeffrey Rous started at UNT in 1996. Over the last 26 years, his research has focused on international health topics and, more recently, housing markets and migration within the US. He has taught micro-economic theory at every level from basic principles to graduate level as well as health economics and urban economics.

While he has served on and chaired numerous committees at the department, college, and university levels, he is most proud of instances where he could help inform decision-making with economic ideas. While serving on the UNT Sustainability Council, he performed cost-benefit analyses on renewable energy generation, the Eagle Point wind turbines, electric vehicles used by UNT facilities, and parking facilities and policy. Most recently, he helped create a framework for using cost-benefit analysis to guide UNT's efforts to solidify its position in the Carnegie Tier 1 research designation. He is honored to be receiving this award and recognizes that his service work at all levels has always been a collaborative effort. He is thankful for colleagues, including staff, which have made this work possible.