Home | Department of Economics

Covid-19 —UNT is offering a mix of in-person, partially in-person, and online/remote course deliveries for Fall 2020. Stay up to date on UNT's response, including return to campus plans.

UNT Banner

We're the Department of Economics.

The UNT campus and our department are now open but most faculty continue to work off campus. Please contact faculty or staff members directly via e-mail listed under the “About Us” menu above.

Undergrad Scholarships

Alumni, faculty members, and other friends of the Department fund our scholarships.

Learn more

Support UNT Economics

The generosity of our alumni and friends makes it possible for the Economics Department to support many outstanding students

Learn more

Master's program in Economics

Majority of our incoming grad students are funded. 100% job placement among graduates in the last several years.

Learn more

Economics Research Group

The Economics Research Group at the University of North Texas is one of the country’s leading economics research groups.

Learn more

Omicron Delta Epsilon

ODE is the international honor society for economics. Are you interested in becoming a member?

Learn more

Economics Student Organization (ESO)

The ESO is open to economics majors. We'd love to have you as a member!

Learn more
Posted on September 22, 2020
Dr. Tieslau CLASS Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching.
Posted on January 9, 2020
Mr. Ellis with a former Fed Chair, Ben Bernanke (NY Times 01/07/20)
Posted on January 9, 2020
Dr. Tieslau won the University Distinguished Teaching Professorship Award.
Posted on May 8, 2019
The scholarships in the amount of $23,100 were awarded to our students in Spring 19 Banquet.
Posted on November 26, 2018
Dr. Michael Nieswiadomy won the 2018 Forecasting Competition of the DFW Association for Business Economics (DABE).
Posted on November 18, 2018
UNT Economics student, Anna Katz, has won the Arthur A. Smith Memorial Award given by the Dallas/Fort Worth Association for Business Economics (DABE).
Posted on October 17, 2018
Dr. Hauge CLASS Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
Read more news