Arthur A. Smith Memorial Scholarship Awards | Department of Economics
March 9, 2017

Arthur A. Smith Memorial Scholarship Awards

Arthur A. Smith Memorial Scholarship Awards

Student nominees are generally chosen based on academic achievement, extracurricular contributions, character, professional objectives, and the sponsoring university's selection criteria.

Students are invited to submit a 1,500-word essay (please keep to the limit) on a current problem or issue in a local, regional, national, or global context that lends itself to economic analysis or application of economic theory. The essay should contain a concise statement of the problem, support a finding using economic principles, research and analysis, and offer original solutions or recommendations. Students are encouraged to submit essays based on prior class work or developed for the competition. Past student applicants have written about a variety of subjects - examples include urban transportation, deregulation of electricity, U.S. budget surplus and trade deficits, birth control in third-world countries, the gold standard, renewable energy policy, and global trade protectionism.

Faculty sponsors assist the student in selecting an appropriate topic and submitting the essay. Plagiarism will not be tolerated.

Attending students and faculty sponsors will be recognized at DABE's Award luncheon meeting (location and prize money TBA). The winners will be announced and receive their award at the luncheon. For the last several years, DABE was pleased to provide the following awards: First place: $1,000.00 Second place: $500.00 Third place: $300.00 Faculty sponsors, DABE members, members of the media, and invited guests will attend the luncheon. There will be time for networking opportunities with professionals; students are encouraged to bring their contact information.

For more information, please contact Dr. Myungsup Kim at